You can create custom roles with sets of permissions that control what a user can do in VisitorOS.
Who can use this feature?
Create a custom role
- From the left sidebar in VisitorOS, click the Settings
icon, then select Roles.
- Click New Role.
- In the Name field, enter a name for the role.
- (Optional) To describe the purpose of the role, enter details in the Description field.
- In the Permissions panel, select the permissions you want the role to have. To know what each permission does, see Understand permissions.
- Click Save.
Understand permissions
Below are all of the available permissions that can be assigned to a role.
General Permissions
- Visitor Sign-In and Sign-Out: Allows users to sign in and sign out visitors using Portal.
Manage Permissions
- Address Book: Allows users to manage the company's Address Book
- Documents: Allows users to create and modify documents used during the sign-in process.
- Devices: Allows users to configure the settings for iPads, Printers and other hardware devices.
- Watchlist Configuration: Allows users to configure watchlists and change rules.
- Watchlist Members: Allows users to manage watchlist member lists.
- Watchlists (all): Allows users to manage watchlists across all sites.
- Events (Managed / My Events): Allows users to create and manage events as the host.
- Events (all): Allows users to manage all events, even when they are not the event host.
- Events (Read Only): Allows users to only view visitor event details.
-
Manage Employee Passes: Allows users to set the start and expiration dates for employee passes. They can also email passes or export them as PDFs.
Important:
This permission requires the user to have the "Address Book" permission.
- Global Messaging: Allows users to send a message to all contacts in the Address Book.
Settings Permissions
- Sites: Allows users to make changes in the Site Settings menu.
- Users: Allows users to make changes in the Users Settings menu, including creating new users.
- Roles: Allows users to make changes to roles. Users cannot adjust the permission level of their own role.
- DeliveryOS Mobile App: Allows users to scan parcels and pickup parcels in the mobile app for DeliveryOS.
- Access Workforce: Allows users to access the WorkforceOS module, if subscription to WorkforceOS is enabled.
Reporting Permissions
- Visitor Log: Allows users to view logs of historical visitor records.
- Edit Visitor Logs: Allows users to edit visitor records in the visitor log.
- Delete Visitor Logs: Allows users to delete visitor records in the visitor log.
- Dashboard Graphs: Allows users to view graphs on the VisitorOS Dashboard based on historical visitor data.
- Data Export: Allows users to export visitor data in bulk
Internal Permissions
- Message Templates: Allows users to edit the default message templates used in email and SMS notifications.
- Visitor Approval: Allows users to approve or reject pending sign-ins from the Portal.