Assign a role to a user in VisitorOS

You can update a user's role in VisitorOS to change the permissions they have.

Who can use this feature?

  • Users with the Account Administrator or Site Administrator role, or any user with permission to manage Users
  • Available on all tiers

About roles in VisitorOS

VisitorOS allows you to assign default roles or custom roles to users. You can choose from the following default roles:

Account Administrator

An Account Administrator manages VisitorOS across all sites in your organization. By default, Account Administrators have the following permissions:

  • Visitor Sign-in and Sign-out: Sign visitors in or out and change expected visitors to pending from the Dashboard or mobile companion app.
  • Visitor Approval: Approve or deny pending sign-in approvals from the Dashboard.
  • Address Book: Manage the directory of contacts who can be selected as hosts.
  • Documents: Create and edit documents used during visitor sign-in.
  • Devices: Configure iPads, virtual kiosks, and other hardware devices.
  • Watchlist Configuration: Configure the rules and members of watchlists used to screen visitors.
  • Watchlists (All): Manage watchlist configurations and members across all sites, regardless of the user's assigned sites.
  • Watchlist Members: Manage watchlist member lists.
  • Events (Managed / My Events): View and manage events where the user is the host.
  • Events (All): View events where the user is not the host.
  • Events (Read Only): View event details at the user's assigned sites.
  • Manage Employee Passes: View employee passes for the site.
  • Sites: Configure site settings, such as sign-in, sign-out, and notifications.
  • Users: Create and edit users, including their roles and assigned sites.
  • Roles: Create custom roles and manage their permissions. Users can only edit roles with the same or fewer permissions than their own role and cannot modify their own role.
  • Visitor Log: View historical visitor records.
  • Dashboard Graphs: View graphs of historical metrics on the Dashboard.
  • Data Export: Export data in bulk, including visitor and host records, events, and visitor documents.

Site Administrator

A Site Administrator manages VisitorOS at the sites assigned to them. By default, Site Administrators have the following permissions:

  • Visitor Sign-in and Sign-out: Sign visitors in or out and change expected visitors to pending from the Dashboard or mobile companion app.
  • Address Book: Manage the directory of contacts who can be selected as hosts.
  • Documents: Create and edit documents used during visitor sign-in.
  • Events (Managed / My Events): View and manage events where the user is the host.
  • Events (All): View events where the user is not the host.
  • Sites: Configure site settings, such as sign-in, sign-out, and notifications.
  • Users: Create and edit users, including their roles and assigned sites.
  • Visitor Log: View historical visitor records.
  • Dashboard Graphs: View graphs of historical metrics on the Dashboard.
  • Data Export: Export data in bulk, including visitor and host records, events, and visitor documents.

Host

A user with the Host role can manage their own events and view records of their visitors. By default, Hosts have the following permissions:

  • Events (Managed / My Events): View and manage events where the user is the host.
  • Visitor Log: View historical records of their visitors.

Assign a role to a user

  1. From the left sidebar in VisitorOS, select the Settings Settings icon icon, then select Users.
    Screenshot showing the settings icon and Users option highlighted.
  2. Select the user whose role you want to change.
  3. From the VisitorOS Role drop-down menu, select a role.
    Screenshot showing the VisitorOS role menu highlighted.
  4. Click Save.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful